
Civil Paperwork Must Include: 
1 ORIGINAL and 2 COPIES of the Entire Packet 

Note*(Add 1 additional set of copies if multiple 
Defendants are listed) 

Copies Include: 
Cover Page / Petition / Filing Paperwork 

Military Affidavit / Covid Compliance  
Evidence / Motions / Answers 

Civil Payment must be in the form of: 
Money Order or Cashier Check 

Two Separate Payable to: 
JP1 for $54.00 (Filing Fee) 

WCCO for $130.00 *per Defendant (Service Fee) 



NOTICE TO VACATE 
DATE: ________________ 

To:______________________________________________________ and all other occupants: 

In accordance with the Statutes of the State of Texas, you are hereby notified and required to quit and deliver 

up peaceful possession of the premises you now hold, and or pay the amount of rent now due 

$__________________, which said premises are situated and described as follows: 

_____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 Property Address 

_____________________________________________________________________________________ 
City          State             Zip 

Should you fail to comply with this request to vacate the said premises by the _______ day of 

____________________________ 20______, then I shall proceed against you as the laws direct. 

Sincerely, 

Owner / Authorized Agent 

Plaintiff gave defendant(s) this written notice to vacate (according to Chapter 24.005 of the Texas 

Property Code) and made demand for possession on the _____ day of _____________ and delivered 

by this method: 

_____________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________. 



1. Contact information for person completing case information
sheet:

2. Names of parties in case:

Name:      

______________________________________ 

Address:  

______________________________________ 

City/State/Zip:   

______________________________________ 

Telephone: 

_________________________ 

Fax:       

_________________________ 

State Bar No:   

_________________________ 

Plaintiff(s): 

_________________________________________________ 

_________________________________________________ 

Defendant(s): 

_________________________________________________ 

_________________________________________________ 

_________________________________________________ 

[Attach additional page as necessary to list all parties] 

Email:      

___________________________________________________________________ 

Signature:    

___________________________________________________________________ 

3. Indicate case type, or identify the most important issue in the case (select only 1):

□ Debt Claim: A debt claim case is a lawsuit brought to

recover a debt by an assignee of a claim, a debt collector or 
collection agency, a financial institution, or a person or 
entity primarily engaged in the business of lending money 
at interest.  The claim can be for no more than $20,000, 
excluding statutory interest and court costs but including 
attorney fees, if any. 

□ Eviction: An eviction case is a lawsuit brought to recover
possession of real property, often by a landlord against a tenant.
A claim for rent may be joined with an eviction case if the amount
of rent due and unpaid is not more than $20,000, excluding
statutory interest and court costs but including attorney fees, if
any.

□ Repair and Remedy: A repair and remedy case is a

lawsuit filed by a residential tenant under Chapter 92, 
Subchapter B of the Texas Property Code to enforce the 
landlord’s duty to repair or remedy a condition materially 
affecting the physical health or safety of an ordinary tenant. 
The relief sought can be for no more than $20,000, 
excluding statutory interest and court costs but including 
attorney fees, if any.   

□ Small Claims: A small claims case is a lawsuit brought for the

recovery of money damages, civil penalties, personal property, or 
other relief allowed by law.  The claim can be for no more than 
$20,000, excluding statutory interest and court costs but including 
attorney fees, if any. 

JUSTICE COURT CIVIL CASE INFORMATION SHEET (4/13) 

CAUSE NUMBER (FOR CLERK USE ONLY): _______________________________  
STYLED ______________________________________________________________________________________ 

Example:  (Plaintiff(s) vs. Defendant(s)) 

A civil case information sheet must be completed and submitted when an original petition is filed to initiate a new suit. The information should be 
the best available at the time of filing. This sheet, required by Rule of Civil Procedure 502, is intended to collect information that will be used for 
statistical purposes only. It neither replaces nor supplements the filings or service of pleading or other documents as required by law or rule. The 
sheet does not constitute a discovery request, response, or supplementation, and it is not admissible at trial. 



CAUSE NO. ____________________ 

______________________________________ §  IN THE JUSTICE COURT 
PLAINTIFF § 

§ 
v. § PRECINCT NO.  1 

§ 
______________________________________ § 
DEFENDANT §      WILSON COUNTY, TEXAS 

PETITION: EVICTION CASE 

COMPLAINT:  Plaintiff hereby sues the following Defendant(s) ________________________________________________ 
_______________________________________________________ for eviction of Plaintiff’s premises (including storerooms 
and parking areas) located in the above precinct.  The address of the property is:          

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Street Address  Unit No. (if any)  City       State  Zip 

GROUNDS FOR EVICTION:  Plaintiff alleges the following grounds for eviction: 

⧠ Unpaid rent.  Defendant(s) failed to pay rent in the amount of $_________________ for the 
following time period(s):  ___________________________________________________. The amount of rent 
claimed as of the date of filing is: $____________________. Plaintiff reserves the right to orally 
amend the amount at trial to include rent due from the date of filing through the date of 
trial. 

⧠ Other lease violations. Defendant(s) breached the terms of the lease (other than by failing 
to pay rent) as follows: __________________________________________________________________________ 
________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

⧠ Holdover.  Defendant(s) are unlawfully holding over by failing to vacate at the end of the 
rental term or renewal of extension period, which was the _____ day of ________________, 20___. 
(day after the notice to vacate expired) 

NOTICE TO VACATE:  Plaintiff has given Defendant(s) a written notice to vacate (according to Chapter 
24.005 of the Texas Property Code) and demand for possession.  Such notice was delivered on the ______ 
day of ______________, 20___ by this method: ___________________________________________________________________ 
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

SUIT FOR RENT: Plaintiff ⧠ does or ⧠ does not include a suit for unpaid rent. 

ATTORNEY'S FEES: Plaintiff ⧠ will be or ⧠ will not be seeking applicable attorney's fees.  The attorney's 
name, address, phone and fax numbers are: _________________________________________________________________ 
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________  

IMMEDIATE POSSESSION BOND: If Plaintiff has filed a bond for immediate possession, Plaintiff requests 
that: (1) the Court set the amount of the bond; (2) the Court approve the bond; and (3) proper notices, as 
required by the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure, are given to Defendant(s). 



SERVICE OF CITATION:  Service is requested on Defendant(s) by: personal service at home or work, or 
by delivery to a person over the age of 16 years at Defendant’s usual place of residence.  If required, 
Plaintiff requests alternative service as allowed by the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure. Other home or work 
addresses where Defendant(s) may be located or served at are:_______________________________________________ 
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________. 
Plaintiff knows of no other home or work addresses of Defendant(s) in this county. 

RELIEF:  Plaintiff requests that Defendant(s) is served with the citation and that Plaintiff is awarded a 
judgment against Defendant(s) for: possession of the premises, including removal of Defendant(s) and 
Defendant’s possessions from the premises, unpaid rent, if set forth above, attorney’s fees, court costs, and 
interest on the above sums at the rate stated in the lease, or if not so stated, at the statutory rate for 
judgments. 

⧠ I hereby request a jury trial. The fee is $22 and must be paid at least 3 days before trial. 

⧠ I hereby consent for the answer and any other motions or pleadings to be sent to my email address as 
follows:________________________________________________________________________________.

⧠ I have reviewed the information about the Texas Eviction Diversion Program available at 
www.txcourts.gov/eviction-diversion/. 

 *All hearings will be in person and all will be required to complete a health screen 
questionnaire, wear face coverings in the courtroom, practice social distancing, and practice 
appropriate hygiene recommendations at all times.

__________________________________________________ ________________________________________________ 
Plaintiff’s Printed Name               Signature of Plaintiff or Agent or Attorney 

Defendant’s Information (if known): ________________________________________________ 
Date of birth: __________________________________ Address of Plaintiff or Agent or Attorney 
Last three digits of Driver License:__________ 
Last three digits of Soc. Sec. No.:_____________ ________________________________________________ 
Phone No.:_____________________________________ City        State             Zip

________________________________________________ 
Phone & Fax No. of Plaintiff    
or Agent or Attorney 

SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED before me this _______ day of ________________________, 20_______ 

_______________________________________________________ 
CLERK OF THE JUSTICE COURT OR NOTARY 



AFFIDAVIT OF MILITARY STATUS OF DEFENDANT(S) 
CASE NO. (Court use only)  ____________________ 

____________________________________ IN THE JUSTICE COURT 
PLAINTIFF(S)  

VS. PRECINCT 1 

____________________________________ WILSON COUNTY, TEXAS 
DEFENDANT(S) 

Before me the undersigned notary, on this day personally appeared the undersigned affiant whose identity is known to 
me.  After I administered an oath to such affiant, he or she upon oath and under penalty of perjury (fine and/or up to 
one year in jail), stated the following: 

My name is (please print) ___________________________________________________________________ 
I am (check one) ☐ the plaintiff or  ☐  an authorized agent of the plaintiff in the case described at the top right of this 
page.  I am capable of making this affidavit.  The facts stated in the affidavit are within my personal knowledge and are 
true and correct. 

(Check or fill in as applicable) 
☐ 1.   No defendant in this case is on active duty in the U.S. military (Army, Navy, Air Force, Marines, or Coast Guard).
The facts on which I base my conclusion are as follows: __________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

☐ 2.   Defendant (insert name(s)) _________________________________________________________________

_______________________________________________________________ is on active duty in the U.S. military.

☐ 3.  Defendant (insert name(s)) _________________________________________________________________

____________________________________________ has been deployed by the U.S. military to a foreign country.

☐ 4.  Plaintiff and the undersigned (if the undersigned is acting agent of plaintiff) are not able to determine whether
any defendant is with the U.S. military – except for defendant named in paragraph 2 above.

☐ 5.  Plaintiff and the undersigned (if the undersigned is acting as an agent of plaintiff) are not able to determine
whether any defendant who is in the U.S. military has been deployed to a foreign country – except for any defendant
named in paragraph 3 above.

☐ 6.  Defendant (insert name(s)) ___________________________________________________________________

______________________ has signed, while on active duty, a separate written waiver or a written lease containing a 
waiver of his or her rights under the U.S. Service members Civil Relief Act of 2003. 

____________________________________________ 
Signature of Affiant 

SWORN TO and SUBSCRIBED before me by _____________________________________________ on 

_________________________, 20____. 

_________________________________ 
Notary Public for the State of Texas 

https://www.dmdc.osd.mil/appj/scra/scraHome.do       -     (online help) Click  Single Record Request 

https://www.dmdc.osd.mil/appj/scra/scraHome.do


The Texas Eviction Diversion Program (TEDP) Set-Aside of the Texas 
Rent Relief (TRR) Program helps Texas tenants stay in their homes 
and provides landlords an alternative to eviction.

The TEDP may provide up to 15 months of rental and utility assistance for eligible 
tenants who are behind on their rent due to the COVID-19 pandemic and have been sued 
for eviction. Both the tenant and the landlord must agree to participate and meet the 
requirements listed on the back of this page.

This temporary program is a unique partnership between the Supreme Court of Texas, 
Texas Office of Court Administration (OCA), and the Texas Department of Housing and 
Community Affairs (TDHCA).

	n If the rent is below the TRR Program maximum, assistance can be used to pay the 
contracted rent for all past due rent as far back as March 13, 2020 (up to 12 months), 
plus up to 3 months of current/future rent. An additional 3 months (not to exceed 
the total of 15 months) may be provided upon re-application if necessary to ensure 
housing stability and if funds are available.  

	n The TEDP allows courts to put eviction lawsuits on hold so that the tenant may apply 
for available rental assistance. When approved, lump sum payments are provided to 
landlords for past-due rent and late fees in exchange for allowing tenants to remain in 
their homes and covering court costs. The payment to landlord is generally within 14 
days of a complete application being received. Diverted cases will be dismissed and 
made confidential from public disclosure.

	n Tenants are ineligible if they are receiving tenant-based voucher assistance, such as 
a Housing Choice Voucher, project-based Section 8 or are living in public housing, or 
have already received rental assistance from another source for the same time period.

STATE OF TEXAS
EVICTION DIVERSION PROGRAM

March 8, 2021



LANDLORD / UNIT TENANT / HOUSEHOLD

Eligibility Requirements:

	n Assistance for rent and reasonable late fees (stemming 
from non-payment of rent) no older than March 13, 2020 
	n Contract rent for the household assisted may not exceed 

the TDHCA maximum limits (limits available by zip code 
and county at TexasRentRelief.com) 
	n Must have a bank account and accept direct deposit
	n Units are INELIGIBLE if tenants are receiving tenant-

based voucher assistance, such as a Housing Choice 
Voucher, project-based Section 8 or are living in public 
housing, or have already received rental assistance from 
another source for the same time period

Eligibility Requirements:

	n Household has been sued for eviction from primary residence, 
located in Texas, and has eviction court docket number
	n Household income at or below 80% of Area Median Income (limits 

available by county at TexasRentRelief.com)  
	n AND one or more of the household members: 
	n Qualified for unemployment benefits on or after March 13, 

2020; OR
	n Attest in writing that due to or during the pandemic they have: 
	• Experienced a reduction in household income,
	• Incurred significant costs, or
	• Experienced financial hardship

	n AND households must demonstrate: 
	n That they are at risk of homelessness or housing instability by 

providing an eviction notice or past-due utility or rent notice; OR
	n Attest that unless they receive rental assistance, they would 

have to move to an unsafe/unhealthy environment like a 
shared living situation or emergency shelter

Documents Needed:

	n Government-issued or personal ID (only if individual/sole 
proprietor)
	n Lease agreement (or if no lease agreement, landlord 

attestation as part of the application regarding term and 
amount of rent)
	n Completed IRS Form W-9
	n Direct Deposit Information
	n Proof of Ownership (real property record/Appraisal 

District information)

Documents Needed:

	n Government-issued or personal ID of a person on the lease
	n Lease agreement (or if no lease, rent receipt for the three most 

recent complete months paid)
	n Income documentation:
	n If household has 6 or fewer members, recent SNAP or LIHEAP 

eligibility or recent SSI eligibility for the head or co-head of 
household, OR 

	n Recent income certification from an affordable property, OR 
	n Annual income documentation for 2020, OR 
	n Income evidence for past 30 days (self-attestation allowed in 

some circumstances, more details on TexasRentRelief.com) 
	n Notices of late rent payment or notice to evict, including court 

docket number, Justice of the Peace precinct, and county
	n Past due utility bills, if utility assistance is being requested
	n Unemployment documentation, if applicable 

You will be required to certify that you:

	n Will waive any fees or penalties not covered by TEDP/TRR, 
and not pass court costs on to the tenant
	n Have not received assistance from another program for the 

same months of rent for this household and will not apply 
in the future for the covered months
	n Will release the tenant from payment liability for this time 

period, waive all claims raised in the eviction case, and not 
evict the tenant for the period covered by TEDP/TRR
	n Will reimburse the TEDP/TRR within 10 business days if 

you receive rent payment for this same unit and time period

You will be required to certify that you:

	n Have not received rental assistance for the same months of rent 
or the rental assistance received was less than the full amount 
owed, and will not seek such assistance in the future for the 
covered months
	n Will reimburse the TEDP/TRR within 10 business days if you 

receive rent (or utility) payment for this same time period

Tenant and Landlord both apply online (TexasRentRelief.com) or by phone (833-9TX-RENT)
If Texas Rent Relief application is eligible and complete, payment to landlord is generally within 14 days

For Questions
Program Eligibility, Process and Application: TexasRentRelief.com   |   833-9TX-RENT / 833-989-7368
Court Process: txcourts.gov/eviction-diversion   |   855-270-7655 (Texas Legal Service Center)

https://texasrentrelief.com
https://texasrentrelief.com
https://texasrentrelief.com
http://TexasRentRelief.com
https://texasrentrelief.com
http://txcourts.gov/programs-services/eviction-diversion-program/
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